Lemon Impossible Pie

This was so easy to make! Zesting a lemon took a few more minutes, but it wasn’t too bad. I used a recipe from Love Foodies blog. It was made for people without PCOS, but I figured I could make substitutions and it would work out fine. It looks a little different from her photos, but I did bake with coconut flour and that always changes the looks of things. Also, the photo at the bottom was when it was cooling. I’m hoping to take a photo of it when I eat it for dessert at a dinner party…we’ll see if I remember before inserting it into my mouth, whole.

I did use soymilk to make this pie and I know soymilk isn’t recommended for PCOS sufferers, but I’m sure unsweetened coconut/nut milk will work just as well! I’m planning to do that next time I make this. I only had soymilk or milk on hand, and I’m allergic to dairy, so soymilk it was!

As I mentioned, I am allergic to dairy, so I used Ener G egg replacer for the eggs and coconut oil for the butter. I also used 1/4 tsp of stevia plus 1/2 cup coconut sugar. I added cinnamon, because lemon and cinnamon are a great combo and Turmeric to give it a more yellow color. Okay, enough talking. Here is the recipe.

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups soymilk (unsweetened coconut/nut milk is fine)

1 cup flaked coconut (unsweetened)

4 eggs (6 tsps of Ener G egg replacer, follow box directions)

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup coconut flour

8 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/2 cup coconut sugar

1/4 tsp Stevia, powdered

Juice and zest of one medium lemon

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 C.
  2. Grease and flour a pie plate (about 8-9 inches)
  3. Melt the coconut oil if it is hard. Make your “eggs” if using the Ener G replacer egg.
  4. In a large bowl combine all ingredients. Mix well with a whisk.
  5. Pour the batter into the greased pie plate.
  6. Place on a baking sheet just in case it spills over and bake for 45 minutes. It should be a little wobbly in the center when you pull it out. Let it cool on the counter and then place in the fridge. Overnight will help it to set properly, but in a pinch a couple of hours should do.
  7. Serve on it’s own or add a dallop of cashew “frosting”
  8. Enjoy!

Lemon Impossible Pie

Leave a Reply

