No-Go

The last time I mentioned that 30 follicles had been stimulated. I went to my follow-up appointment and nothing had changed. Which means the medication (Sexovid) didn’t give me enough of a boost. So, my doctor ordered a 2 week break in which hopefully my period will come.

According to my doctor the medication isn’t going to cut it. It’s been a year since I started using Clomid, Sexovid and Hormone shots to try and ovulate. I just turned 30 on February 1st. I’m thinking these are a few of the reasons why my doctor decided to try IVM after a year of trying with the medication.

I have to admit I was a bit shocked to hear my doctor recommend IVM after only a year of hormone medication and shots. I wondered if my condition was that severe. I mean, I do have a partial bicornuate uterus on top of the PCOS. But then I realized, that it might actually be a good thing to move to this stage so quickly. The medication of hormones clearly aren’t working on my body, I hope to have at least 2 children and I would like my first child before I turn 35. In the long run, this might be the best thing for us. At least that is what I am telling myself and it helps to keep me in high spirits. At this point anything to keep up our spirits are the best thing.

I will talk about IVM in another post. It’s a rather new technology compared to IVF. It started to become available in 2007 or 2009. For those of us that can’t mature eggs IVM will be (hopefully) a little more gentle on the body (not to mention the wallet).

Leave a Reply

