Beetroot Houmous

I love houmous, but there is only so many times I can eat houmous before I need a bit of a change. I know there are options like avocado hummus which is delicious! But, sometimes I want to save my avocados for another recipe. I just happened to be watching a cooking show on TV (Gordon Ramsay was the chef) and I saw Beetroot houmous! The color is what really got me. That rich purple red color with the creamy mix of chickpeas mmmm, splendid! I immediately started to pay attention and it was just as simple as avocado hummus!

Now, I know most people use canned chickpeas and that’s fine, but I don’t like the added salt in the can. I buy dry chickpeas and cook them in my pressure cooker and boy do they cook fast! To cook chickpeas in a pressure cooker you don’t even need to pre-soak. Just rinse 1 cup of chickpeas real quick, pop them in the pressure cooker with 3 cups water, close the lid and cook for 30 minutes. Simple as that.

I just happened to stumble upon fresh beetroots at my supermarket (almost impossible to find canned or fresh! in Nagoya at least). You have no idea how excited I was! I quickly bought 2 medium sizes beetroots and checked, my friend, pinterest for cooking length. It was surprisingly fast, too. Fill a pot with water and bring to a boil (there should be enough water to cover the beetroots). Make sure to clean the beets really well, no dirt or grime left. This way you can save the water and use it as stock or food coloring. Once the water is boiling and your beetroots are clean, pop them into the water and cook for 20-30 minutes and then put them in an ice bath immediately after cooking. They should be soft, insert a toothpick to check. The ice bath helps to remove the skin quickly, but I didn’t have ice. I put them in a cold bath and then I used a vegetable peeler. Just be careful not to peel too much or you will lose a lot of your beetroots! Of course, beetroots are delicious on their own, but save some for the houmous!

Cut the beetroots into cubes and put them in a food processor with the chickpeas. Add some Extra Virgin Olive Oil ( I gave a nice dallop and then I added more as I went until I got the consistency I liked), add a dash of salt (again add in small increments till you get the flavor you like). I use about 2 cloves of garlic and add 1/4 tsp of garlic powder and onion powder. Don’t forget a generous portion of cumin (I like 1-2 tbsp, sometimes more) and blend away. Once the texture is creamy I add about half a lemon and squeeze all the juice (minus the seeds) into it and blend again. If you like you could add some smoked paprika!

It should be a beautiful rich purple red color that is oh so good! Make sure to buy some carrots and cucumbers (or lettuce leaves) so you have something to eat this hummus with or you will end up eating hummus with a spoon.  Thank you Gordon Ramsay!

Leave a Reply

